June 2017 Newsletter

Milk Price, Chairman & Vice-Chairman, Drinagh 2016 Trading Bonuses, Moorepark Open Day 2017, 2017 Trading Bonuses, Carbery Quality Milk Awards 2016

19 June 2017

Milk Price

The Board of Directors have increased the milk price for the month of May by 1.0 cents per litre - bringing the price to 34.14 cpl (155.20 cents per gallon) at 3.60% butterfat and 3.30% protein, including Summer Somatic Cell Count (SCC) bonus of 0.5 cpl, SDAS bonus of 0.15 cpl and VAT at 5.4%.

The average price paid for the month is 36.19 cpl. This is based on the average butterfat of 3.83% and protein of 3.46%, including SCC, SDAS bonuses and VAT.

Chairman & Vice-Chairman

At a recent meeting of the Board of Directors Mr. TJ Sullivan, Urhan Cross, Eyeries was elected Chairman and Mr. Jerome O’Mahony, Derryduff, Drimoleague was elected as Vice-Chairman.

We congratulate them in their appointments and wish them well in their terms of office.

Drinagh 2016 Trading Bonuses

Feed, fertilizer and milk bonuses already announced are being paid in this month’s accounts. The bonus is €7.50 per tonne of fertilizer and €10.00 per tonne of feed purchased in 2016.

The Milk bonus of 0.25 cents per litre on 2016 milk supplies where purchases from the Society were greater than 7.0 cents per litre and 0.125 cents per litre where purchases were less than 7.0 cents per litre and greater than 5.0 cents per litre is also paid this month.

All bonuses are paid based on kgs of milk solids. For the full bonus this equates to 2.599 cents per kilo of fat and 3.898 cents per kilo of protein.

This brings the total bonuses paid this month by the Society to €1,116,032. This is in addition to the Carbery Bonus already paid. The combined total bonus paid is €2,916,796 incl. VAT.

Moorepark Open Day 2017

The Moorepark Open Day will take place Tuesday the 4th of July from 10.00am to 5.00pm.

All are welcome to attend

2017 Trading Bonuses

At a recent meeting the Board agreed that any milk bonus to be paid by the Society based on 2017 supplies will be subject to suppliers having purchases greater than 7.0 cents per litre for the full bonus.

Purchases between 5.0 and 7.0 cents will receive half of any bonus.

Purchases of less than 5.0 cents per litre will not qualify for a bonus.

All bonuses are paid based on kgs of milk solids

Carbery Quality Milk Awards 2016

The Drinagh Co-Op winner of the award is:

Liam & Dolores O’Donovan, Clohane, Skibbereen

The Drinagh Co-Op runners up are:

Noel & Derek Jagoe, Toughmacdermody, Drinagh

Robert Deane, Derrygareen, Skibbereen

We congratulate the three finalists on their remarkable achievement of consistently producing top quality milk.

The overall Carbery winner is: Lisavaird Suppliers John Joe & Theresa O’Sullivan, Gurranes, Rosscarbery.

A farm walk will be held on the farm of John Joe & Theresa O’Sullivan on Friday July 21st at 12 noon.

The following are the top 30 registered milk suppliers for 2016 based on their milk quality in alphabetical order:

Anthony O’Donovan, Bawn Farm, Castletownsend

Anthony O’Shea, Gories, Bantry

Brendan O’Driscoll, Shreelane, Leap

Dan & Catherine McCarthy, Lissane, Drimoleague

David Kingston, Curraghnaloughra, Drinagh

Donal & Carmel O’Connor Reavouler, Drinagh

Donal & Mary Hayes, Shuntullig, Durrus, Bantry

Donie & Mary O’Donovan, Cullinagh, Skibbereen

Gerard McCarthy, Caheragh, Drimoleague

Jason Wolfe, Stouke, Ballydehob

Jeremiah & Diarmuid O’Brien, Ballyboy, Dunmanway

Jeremiah O’Sullivan, Dunscullib, Leap

John B. Leonard, Donegal, Reengaroga, Baltimore

John Moynihan, Shuntullig, Dunbeacon, Durrus

John O’Mahony, Inchiclough, Bantry

Kenneth McCarthy , Ballygurteen, Clonakilty

Kieran O’Donovan, Forenaught, Skibbereen

Laurence Hallihane, Lickowen, Skibbereen

Liam & Dolores O’Donovan, Clohane, Skibbereen

Michael & Marguerite Crowley, Bauravilla Upper, Skibbereen

Michael Og Crowley, Bauravilla, Skibbereen

Michael Russell, Knockane, Drimoleague

Noel & Derek Jagoe, Toughmacdermody, Drinagh

Noel O’Shea, Ballyally, Skibbereen

Patrick Collins, Knockataggart, Skibbereen

Reps. Tadgh Kingston, Ferlihanes, Rossmore, Clonakilty

Robert Deane, Derrygareen, Skibbereen

Timothy McCarthy, Dromusta West, Drimoleague

Trevor and Carol Draper Knockbue, Drimoleague