June 2016 Newsletter

Milk Price & Supply, Chairman & Vice-Chairman, 2015 Bonuses, Clonakilty Darrara Open Day, Best Practice in Milking, Carbery Quality Milk Awards 2015

23 June 2016

Milk Price & Supply

After milk price support of 0.5 cents per litre (cpl) by the Co-Op, the milk price for the month of May is unchanged at 25.65 cpl (116.60 cents per gallon) at 3.60% butterfat and 3.30% protein, including a bonus of 0.5 cpl for a Summer Somatic Cell Count (SCC) of less than 200,000, SDAS bonus of 0.15 cpl and VAT at 5.2%.

The average price paid for the month based on the average butterfat of 3.81% and protein of 3.47%, including SCC, SDAS bonuses and VAT is 27.22 cpl.

The milk supply for the month of May was 25,000,490 litres (5,499,327 gallons). This represents an increase of 4.87% on supply compared to May 2015.

Chairman & Vice-Chairman

At a recent meeting of the Board of Directors Mr. Richard Connell, Dunmanus, Toormore was elected Chairman and Mr. TJ Sullivan, Urhan Cross, Eyeries was elected as Vice-Chairman.

We congratulate them in their appointments and wish them well in their terms of office.

2015 Bonuses

Feed, fertilizer and milk bonuses already announced are being paid in this month’s accounts. The bonus is €7.50 per tonne of fertilizer and €10.00 per tonne of feed purchased in 2015.

Milk bonus is 0.25 cents per litre on 2015 milk supplies where purchases from the Society were greater than 7.0 cents per litre and 0.125 cents per litre where purchases were less than 7.0 cents per litre and greater than 5.0 cents per litre.

No bonus is paid where purchases are less than 5.0 cents per litre.

This brings the total bonuses paid by the Society for 2015 to €1,032,038.

Clonakilty Darrara Open Day

Teagasc are hosting a Research Open day in Clonakilty Agricultural College on Tuesday the 28th of June from 10.30 am.

The aim of the day is to showcase the recent research that has been undertaken in Clonakilty Agricultural College and Moorepark into white clover in grazing systems.

Other topics to be covered on the day include:

  1. Crossbreeding,
  2. Coping with milk price volatility and
  3. Sustainability.

All welcome to attend

Best Practice in Milking

Frs best practice in milking courses are ongoing around the country. The course is completed over 2 days and costs €250. Anyone interested in attending or sending someone to attend should call 1890 20 1000 or book online.

Carbery Quality Milk Awards 2015

The Drinagh Co-Op Winner of the award is:

Michael & Maguerite Crowley, Bauravilla Upper, Skibbereen.

Drinagh Co-Op runners up are:

Billy Wolfe, Knockawaddra, Lisbealad

Timothy O’Mahony, Dreenane, Schull

The overall Carbery Winner is: Michael & Maguerite Crowley, Bauravilla Upper, Skibbereen

We congratulate the three finalists on their remarkable achievement of consistently producing top quality milk. A farm walk will be held on the farm of Michael & Maguerite Crowley, Bauravilla Upper, Skibbereen later in the year.

The following are the top 30 registered milk suppliers for 2015 based on their milk quality in alphabetical order:

Anthony O’Donovan, Bawn farm, Castletownsend

Anthony O’Shea, Gories, Bantry

Billy Wolfe Knockawaddra, Lisbealad

Brendan O’Driscoll, Shreelanes, Leap

Charles Joseph McCarthy, Gortycrossig, Toehead, Castletownsend

Dan & Catherine McCarthy, Lissane, Drimoleague

David Kingston, Curraghnaloughra, Drinagh

Declan Harrington, Gortnaclohy,Skibbereen

Denis Collins, Letterlickey, Bantry

Donal & Mary Hayes, Shuntullig, Durrus, Bantry

Donie & Mary O’Donovan, Cullinagh, Skibbereen

Francis Keating, Droumnacara, Church Cross, Skibbereen

James Young, Derryclough, Drinagh

Jason Wolfe, Stouke, Ballydehob

Jeremiah & Diarmuid O’Brien, Ballyboy, Dunmanway

John Moynihan, Shuntullig, Dunbeacon, Durrus

John O’Regan, Kielbronogue, Schull

Karol O’Shea, Angram, Drimoleague

Kieran O’Sullivan, Dunmanus, Goleen

Liam O’Donovan, Clohane, Skibbereen

Michael & Marguerite Crowley, Bauravilla Upper, Skibbereen

Michael Murnane, Coorydowney, Drimolague

Michael Russell, Knockane, Drimoleague

Neil Collins, Drinagh East, Lisbealad, Dunmanway

Noel & Derek Jagoe, Toughmacdermody, Drinagh

Padraig & Mairead Horgan Glounathnaw, Bantry

Patrick Collins, Knockataggart, Skibbereen

Reps. Tadgh Kingston Ferlihanes, Rossmore

Sean Dineen, Bawnbue, Drimoleague

Timothy O’Mahony Dreenane, Schull