CellCheck Milking for Quality Awards 2013

Congratulations to the 43 Drinagh award winners in this first year of the CellCheck awards.

17 September 2014

This is the first year of the CellCheck Milking for Quality Awards. The award is given to the 500 milk suppliers nationally with the lowest, weighted annual average SCC for 2013, based on SCC data collected by the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine and analysed by ICBF. Any suppliers with at least 9 months SCC results are considered eligible. Drinagh is well represented and especially proud that 43 of our milk suppliers have qualified for the CellCheck Milking for Quality award. The SCC range of the winners is 25-105,000 cells/ml, which is an excellent achievement. We are sure that in time this will become a prestigious and much sought-after annual award. Each winner will receive a waterproof plaque (see picture) that is designed to be mounted on the wall of their dairy or milking parlour.

The 43 Drinagh award winners are listed below in alphabetical order:

Adrian O’Driscoll Maultrahane, Leap
Conor Minihane Drishanemore, Skibbereen
Daniel J & William O’Donovan Minanes, Drinagh
Denis G. O’Brien Castledonovan, Drimoleague
Denis & Shelia Cronin Ballyhadown, Drimoleague
Donal O’Mahony Letterlickey, Bantry
Donie & Mary O’Donovan Cullineagh East, Skibbereen
Finbarr O’Sullivan Rooska, Bantry
Francis Coughlan Scart, Bantry
Francis Keating Droumnacara, Church Cross
George Deane Bunalun, Skibbereen
James Kearney Acres, Dunmanway
James Tobin Lake View, Corran, Leap
James Young Derryclough, Drinagh
Jason Wolfe Stouke, Ballydehob
Jerry & Mary O’Neill Rerahanagh, Drimoleague
Jeremiah G & Noreen Coakley The Paddock, Drinagh
John Hunt Lissacha North, Schull
John O’Regan Kielbronogue, Schull
John & Sandra Maher Keelnaclasha, Skibbereen
Julie McSweeney Drimoleague
Kenneth McCarthy Ballygurteen, Clonakilty
Kevin & Siobhan O’Driscoll Kilmore, Drimoleague
Kieran O’Sullivan Dunmanus, Goleen
Liam O’Connell Currabeg, Skibbereen
Liam O’Donovan Clohane, Skibbereen
Martin & Catherine Murnane Letterlickey, Bantry
Michael Lynch Lissane, Drimoleage
Michael Og Crowley Bauravilla, Skibbereen
Michael Russell Knockane, Drimoleague
Neil Collins Dromusta, Drimoleague
Padraig Bohane Kilderry, Skibbereen
Pat Keane Caherdaniel, Bantry
Patrick Collins Deelish, Drimoleague
Patrick Collins Knockataggart, Skibbereen
Richard Jennings Keelinga, Leap
Richard O’Connell Dunmanus, Toormore
Rosaline Shannon Brahalaish, Durus, Bantry
Samuel & Hilda Attridge Gearhameen, Durrus
Sean Dineen Bawnbue, Drimoleague
Sean O’Leary Gortinacarriga, Goleen
Timothy O’Mahony Dreenane, Schull
William Wolfe Knockawaddra, Lisbealad

The CellCheck Milking For Quality Awards is an initiative to acknowledge and recognise the excellence of Irish farmers who are currently achieving very high standards of udder health on farm, and to provide a goal for others to aim for in the future. It also gives positive feedback to the milk processors who are providing somatic cell count (SCC) data to the Department of Agriculture, under a protocol developed by AHI, ICBF and the Department.

CellCheck Milking For Quality Awards